Bucs heading to Wisconsin for NCAA Regional
Bucs heading to Wisconsin for NCAA Regional
Thursday, May 5, 2016

ETSU to make 25th regional appearance

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (May 5, 2016) – The ETSU men’s golf team knew they were heading to the NCAA Regional. All it came down to was which regional site the Buccaneers would be sent to. 

The suspense is over as the NCAA released its field for the 2016 regionals Thursday morning on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive and the Bucs will be traveling to Kohler, Wis., to play at the Blackwolf Run Meadow Valleys Course. 

ETSU, who will be making its third straight NCAA Regional appearance and 25th in program history, earned the automatic bid after winning its 19th Southern Conference Championship last week in Pinehurst, N.C. 

The six, 54-hole regional tournaments will be played May 16-18. ETSU is playing at one of the three regional sites featuring 13 teams and 10 individuals, while the other three regionals have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals. 

Team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 27-June 1 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon.  The University of Oregon is the host institution for the 2016 championships. 

Last season Gudmundur Kristjansson (Reykjavik, Iceland) qualified for the NCAA Championships as an individual.

Below are the teams joining ETSU in the regional, which is hosted by Marquette University. Please note, the teams are listed by their seed in the regional. 

  1. Illinois (Big Ten Conference Champion)
  2. Florida State
  3. Florida
  4. Arkansas
  5. Baylor
  6. Penn State
  7. Memphis
  8. Kent State (Mid-American Conference Champion)
  9. UCLA
  10. ETSU (SoCon Champion)
  11. Campbell
  12. Idaho (Big Sky Conference Champion)
  13. South Dakota State (Summit League Champion) 


  1. Lloyd Jefferson Go (Seton Hall)
  2. Patrick Flavin (Miami Ohio)
  3. Billy Walthouse (Rhode Island)
  4. Otto Black (Toledo)
  5. Tee-k Kelly (Ohio State)
  6. Will Grimmer (Ohio State)
  7. George Baylis (Akron)
  8. Trent Wallace (Illinois State)
  9. Luke Graboyes (Cornell)
  10. Evan Russell (Hartford) 

For more information on Buccaneer men’s golf, visit ETSUBucs.com and click on the men’s golf page.