Four Bucs earn SoCon Postseason Awards
Four Bucs earn SoCon Postseason Awards
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Fontcuberta and Herrera earn First Team singles honors

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (April 18, 2018) – The ETSU men’s tennis team claimed four postseason Southern Conference accolades with Sergi Fontcuberta (Barcelona, Spain) and Robert Herrera (Barcelona, Spain) earning First Team in singles, while Miguel Este (Caracas, Venezeula) was placed on the Second Team at the No. 6 singles spot. Fontcuberta also earned a spot on the Second Team in doubles when combining with David Gonzalez (Barcelona, Spain).

Barcelona, Spain natives Fontcuberta and Herrera earned First Team honors for the Bucs. Fontcuberta led the Bucs with a 15-4 record. He went 2-1 at the No. 2 spot, 12-3 at the No. 3 spot and picked up a win at the No. 5 spot. Herrera also had a fantastic season going 13-5 at the No. 1 spot.

Miguel Este went 7-6 on the season after finishing 7-4 at the No. 6 spot to earn a place on the Second Team in singles by position.

Concluding the SoCon postseason awards were Fontcuberta and Gonzalez who were named to the Second Team in doubles at the No. 3 spot. The duo went a perfect 5-0 when paired together.

All four Bucs led their team to their 18th all-time regular season title. After earning the No. 1 seed in the tournament, the Bucs will begin SoCon Tournament play this Friday, April 20 against No. 8 The Citadel in Chattanooga, Tenn. The match is set for 8:30 a.m. at the Champions Club.  

2018 SoCon Men’s Tennis Postseason Awards 

First Team


Sergi Fontcuberta, ETSU

Robert Herrera, ETSU

Cameron Green, Furman

Sam Philp, Mercer

Olivier Stuart, Mercer

Connor Thompson, UNCG



Cameron Green/Jake Munns, Furman

Sam Philp/Oliver Stuart, Mercer

Connor Thompson/Nico Grewe, UNCG


Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Lucas Cerbelli, Wofford

No. 2 – Ollie Palmer, UNCG

No. 3 – Edu Villar, Wofford

No. 4 – Fernando Guardia, Mercer

No. 5 – Aleksandar Petrovic, Samford

No. 6 – Miguel Este, ETSU


Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – Jake Faundez/Eduardo Lourido, Samford

No. 2 – Marcus Vidgren/Logan Walker, UNCG

No. 3 – Sergi Fontcuberta/David Gonzalez, ETSU


Ivan Mitric, Furman

Oliver Palmer, UNCG

Aleksandar Petrovic, Samford

Rossouw Norval, Samford

Edu Villar, Wofford

Omar Williams, Wofford


Player of the Year

Connor Thompson, UNCG


Freshman of the Year

Ivan Mitric, Furman


Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award

Niklas Gerdes, Chattanooga


Coach of the Year

Eric Hayes, Mercer

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer men’s tennis visit and click on the men’s tennis page.