Track & Field announces 2016 team award winners
Track & Field announces 2016 team award winners
Tuesday, September 13, 2016

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (September 13, 2016) – On Tuesday director of track and field/cross country George Watts and the ETSU track and field program announced its 2016 team awards as selected by the ETSU coaching staff after taking both indoor and outdoor results into consideration.

“As we prepare for the new school year, it’s always great to look back one more time and recognize those individuals who made an impact during the 2015-16 track and field seasons,” said Watts. It’s important to recognize not just the athletic performances, but also the academic achievements of our teams.”

“All of our 2016 senior graduated in four years and we earned numerous SoCon Academic honors as well as USTFCCCA team honors in cross country and track and field,” said Watts. “All of the individual awards presented are significant. Whether you are the Most Improved or Most Valuable, it is a great honor to be selected for any category. Hopefully this year’s team will give us more to celebrate during the 2016-17 campaign.”

David E. Walker Most Valuable Athlete Award
Kyra Atkins – Named Southern Conference Freshman of the Year for both the indoor and outdoor season. Atkins won the SoCon in two events the long jump and 100 meter hurdles, competing in the 100mH at the NCAA East preliminaries. Atkins tied a school record in the 100mH with a time of 13.42 at the SoCon championships.

Michael Williams – Garnered Second Team All-American honors after finishing 14th at the NCAA Championships in the 400 meter hurdles. Williams was the first Buccaneer to make the NCAA Championships since Tyler Stepp and was the first ETSU track athlete to do so since 2005. The Mt.Laurel, N.J. native also won the SoCon title in the 400mH for the second consecutive year.  

Performance of the Year Award
Kyra Atkins tying a school record in the 100 meter hurdles with a time of 13.32 at the NCAA East Preliminaries.

Michael Williams recording the second fastest time in ETSU history at the NCAA East Preliminaries with a 400mH time of 50.49.

Best Newcomer Award
Kiana Davis – Competed in a total of 11 track & field meets (5-indoor / 6-outdoor). Davis was a part of 17 top ten finishes including a third place finish as part of the 4x100 meter relay team at the Benyon Sports Surfaces Catamount Classic.

Jordan Scott – During the 2015-16 season, Scott recorded personal bests in the 200m (22.54) and high jump (2.11m). Finished second at the SoCon outdoor championships in the high jump.

Senior Academic Achievement Award
Ashley Kessler – Kessler finished off her senior year with a 3.75 cumulative grade point average en route to earning Spring Academic All-SoCon honors. K

Angus Baldwin – The senior competed in eight track and meets (4 indoor, 4 outdoor) during the 2015-16 season. During the indoor season, Baldwin compiled three top ten finishes and won the distance medley relay at the ETSU Track & Field Invitational with a time of 10:16.84.

Buccaneer Award (Toughest Competitor)
Ashley Kessler – Became a three-time conference indoor pole vault champion, earning the SoCon pole vault indoor title for the second straight year. During the outdoor season, Kessler recorded three pole vault victories. The Knoxville, Tenn., native finished off her career with 18 straight top ten finishes.

Simeon Roberts – Earned the SoCon title in the 3000m steeplechase with a personal best time of 9:18.36. During the cross country season, Roberts received Second Team All-SoCon honors for the second straight year.

Most Improved Athlete Award
Nicki Smith – Competed in a total of 13 indoor and outdoor meets recording personal bests in the 400m and 400mH. At the SoCon Outdoor Championships she placed second in the 400mH with a time of 1:01.96. Smith recorded her second career victory at the Benyon Sports Surfaces Catamount Classic in the 400mH.

Matt Moore – Captured the indoor SoCon title in the 60 meters with a time of 6.79. Throughout the 2015-16 season, Moore recorded a total of four event victories. At the SoCon Outdoor championships, he recorded a personal best time in the 100m of 10.58.

School Records Broken
Kyra Atkins – 100mH – 13.32

For more information on Buccaneer Track and field, visit and click on the track and field pages.