Cross Country, Track and Field Announces Annual Awards
Cross Country, Track and Field Announces Annual Awards
Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Bucs Athletes Recognized for Records & Achievements


JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (Sept. 16, 2020) – In a season that will go down as one of a kind, ETSU’s cross country and track and field teams took a look back on an unprecedented 2019-20 season last Sunday at their annual awards ceremony.

“This is our 6th year of presenting awards to recognize our athletes for their accomplishments during the previous track and field seasons and the second year for cross country,” said Director of XC/Track and Field George Watts. “This past year was a little different for track and field since we only had the indoor season to choose from.  We briefly considered not doing the awards for that reason, but we felt we accomplished a lot during the indoor season and our kids deserved the recognition.”

In the fall season, the women’s cross country team highlighted their season with a first place team finish at the Greater Louisville Classic out of 62 teams. The men’s team also competed at a high level, with four top-five finishes in their first five meets. Johnson City played host to the Southern Conference Championships, where the Bucs honored and celebrated with returning alums by grabbing second and fourth-place finishes from the men’s and women’s teams, respectively.

“We enjoyed the opportunity to host the Cross Country Championship,” said Watts. With help from many people and departments, we put on an outstanding meet, and also had a wonderful turnout from our alumni.”

Highlighting the successful indoor track and field season were three Southern Conference championships, a conference and school record and a facility-best mark. Amongst the individual accolades, the women’s track and field team cemented their place comfortably as SoCon runner-ups, while 14 freshmen made the SoCon All-Freshman Team. The accomplishments came off the track as well, both teams earning a USTFCCCA All-Academic Team selection while Mekayla Brown (Elgin, S.C.) and Nicole Johnson (Chattanooga, Tenn.) were individual recipients of the academic award.

“I think this year's recipients were as deserving as any and we had some great highlights, especially at the Southern Conference Championship,” Watts continued. “I think one of the great highlights at the Indoor Conference Championship was the record setting performance by Nicole Johnson in the 60m dash.  She set a school and conference record in her very first SoCon meet.”



Most Valuable Runner                  

Women                                                                       Heather Feuchtenberger

Men                                                                            Ben Varghese

Most Improved Runner                                               

Women                                                                       Genevieve Schwarz

Men                                                                            Adam Bradtmueller



School Records: Indoor Track & Field

Event: Performance                                                      

60m Dash -- 7.40s                                                       Nicole Johnson


Captain’s Awards                                                            

Women                                                                       Neyasha Honorable, Atlantis Warren

Men                                                                            Josh Routh

Senior Academic Achievement Award                  

Women                                                                       Emily Lord

Men                                                                            Josh Routh

Best Newcomer Award                                                

Women                                                                       Kennedie Carithers

Men                                                                            Miguel Parrilla

Most Improved Athlete                                                

Women                                                                       Kendra Whitehurst

Men                                                                            Zach Fejeran

Buccaneer Award (Toughest Competitor)            

Women                                                                       Aliyah Hill

Men                                                                            Malick Gemechu

David E. Walker Most Valuable Athlete                                                 

Women                                                                       Mekayla Brown

Men                                                                            Matt Scarr

Performance of the Year                                             

Women: Southern Conference Indoor                      Nicole Johnson

60 Meter Dash – Conference Champion

Conference & School Record: 7.40s

Men: Music City Classic                                              Matt Scarr

3000 Meter Run – 8:12.78


“I look forward to some great performances in 2021,” said Watts. “No matter when the opportunity presents itself, our student-athletes plan to be ready to compete at their highest level,” concluded Watts.


ETSU fans who’d like to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer track and field, visit and click on the men’s or women’s track and field pages.