ETSU adds A-Sun All-Sports Trophy to best season in school history
Monday, May 14, 2007

MACON, Ga. (May. 14, 2007) -Following the conclusion of both the 2007 Atlantic Sun Softball Championship and the Outdoor Track and Field Championships, the ETSU Buccaneers have compiled enough points to claim the Sherman Day Trophy, the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy and the combined all-sports trophy for the first time since joining the conference in 2005, league officials announced today.


            Buccaneer athletic teams combined to win eight conference championships in the 2006-07 season, making it the most successful season of ETSU athletics in school history.  ETSU had tallied seven championships heading into the outdoor track & field championships last weekend, tying the mark set in 1991-92, and the men's team's victory broke the deadlock, also securing the Fletcher Trophy.


The Sherman Day Trophy, awarded to the school that earns the most women's points throughout the school year, is headed to the state of Tennessee for the first time. The Lady Bucs were crowned champions in volleyball and tennis to pick up 58.5 of their 187.5 points and won the all-sports race by 19.5 over Jacksonville. The award for the women's all-sport race is named in honor of Dr. Sherman Day, a founding member of the New South Women's Athletic Conference in 1985. Day served as the commissioner of the NSWAC from 1987 until the league merged with the A-Sun in 1991.


ETSU has also collected enough points in the men's all-sports race to be tabbed the recipients of the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy, named in honor of Dr. Jesse C. Fletcher, a founding member of the Atlantic Sun and the conference's first president. The Buccaneers have won five consecutive titles this season to jump to the top of the standings with 153 points and baseball still up for grabs. After a third-place finish in cross country to begin the year, ETSU collected first-place points in indoor track and field, basketball, tennis, golf, and outdoor track and field. Currently the Bucs are 33 points ahead of Belmont with a maximum of 30 points still on the board for any single school.


By sweeping the men's and women's all-sports race, ETSU has also earned the first combined all-sports trophy, given to the school who collects the most combined points throughout the year.


The ETSU men capture the all-sports trophy for the second consecutive season and combined the Bucs completed the sweep of the men's and women's all-sports trophies, marking the first sweep since Central Florida won both trophies from 2002 through 2004.


Points for the all-sports standings are awarded on a descending basis in three-point increments and are established according to the number of teams participating in each sport. In team sports, points are awarded based on a school's regular season finish. In individual sports, such as cross country, golf, and track and field, points are awarded based on their A-Sun Championship standings. In the event of a tie, the two schools split the combined points.


The 12-member league headquartered in Macon, Ga., consists of Belmont, Campbell, ETSU, Gardner-Webb, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Lipscomb, Mercer, UNF and Stetson with Florida Gulf Coast and USC Upstate beginning competition in 2007-08.