ETSU women's golf places four on All A-Sun teams
Monday, May 18, 2009

O'Sullivan earns first team honors, while Jansone, Muehl and Vizcarrondo also make list


                MACON, Ga. (May 18, 2009) - Junior Sinead O'Sullivan (Galway, Ireland) was named to the Atlantic Sun Conference's first team, and teammates Laura Jansone (Jurmala, Latvia) and Nina Muehl (Vienna, Austria) received second team honors in voting released Monday by the league offices.


            O'Sullivan moved up after earning second team honors as a sophomore, while Jansone makes her third straight appearance on the postseason awards list. Muehl, a true freshman, makes her first appearance on the postseason list and joined teammate Mayte Vizcarrondo (Cadiz, Spain) on the A-Sun All-Freshman team.


Stetson added to a history-making season as freshman Lauren Cate and head coach Floyd Kerr earned the program's first two year-end awards and Belmont's Lorie Warren earned her second-straight Player of the Year.


Stetson, the winner of the Atlantic Sun Championship last month, had never earned a Player-of-Year, Freshman-of-the-Year or Coach-of-the-Year award in the 17 years prior to this year, but Cate's runner-up performance at the A-Sun Championship in addition to five other top-10 showings and a top-25 finish at NCAA Regional play earned the St. Augustine, Fla., native the distinction as the Freshman of the Year. The league's coaches and sports information director's named her a unanimous selection to the All-Freshman Team as well as onto the A-Sun's First Team. Kerr joins only seven other conference coaches to receive the Coach-of-the-Year honor in the 17-year history of the award.


Warren, who received unanimous votes to the conference's First Team, finished her A-Sun career with four victories during the year and recorded top-10 finishes in all but one of her 11 starts. She owned the lowest scoring average in the conference at 74.16 and her low round of 69, shot in both rounds en route to taking the Great Smokies Women's Collegiate, tied the low round of year in the conference. Warren joins Campbell's Alejandra Shaw (2006, 2007) and Mara Larrauri (1997, 1998) and FIU's Moria Dunn (1992, 1993) as the A-Sun's fourth repeat Player-of-the-Year recipient


The A-Sun First Team also included the Medalist from the A-Sun Championship, the Hatters' Danielle Jackson. She became the first Hatter to earn three all-conference selections since Kim Goldstrohm and Christine Ridenour each did so in 1994. Along with her teammate Cate, Stetson placed two on the First Team for the first time in program history. Campbell junior Mary Mattson earned a First-Team spot for the second time in as many years and ETSU's O'Sullivan rounded out the first team.


The Camels and Buccaneers controlled four of the five spots on the Second-Team, paced by Campbell's Belen Diaz Cisneros, a three-time Second-Team performer. Her teammate, Sandra Angulo, an All-Freshman selection in 2008, also made the team. Muehl, the only freshman on the Second Team, and Jansone, last year's Medalist winner accounted for two-fifths of the Second-Team, which was filled out by Stetson's Lauren Darnell. Darnell, along with Jackson and Cate gave the Hatters three representatives on the two All-Conference Teams, a first for the program since 1991 (Kristi Richardson, Kim Goldstrohm and Christine Ridenour).


Campbell's Michell Koh, Kennesaw State's Patricia Arana and Vizcarrando joined Cate and Muehl on the All-Freshman Team. Koh, like Cate earned a unanimous selection to the team.


The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.