Three Bucs earn All-SoCon recognition
Photos Courtesy: Southern Conference
Three Bucs earn All-SoCon recognition
Thursday, April 27, 2017

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (April 27, 2017) – The Southern Conference announced Thursday afternoon its postseason All-SoCon awards, and the ETSU women’s golf team earned three awards with two Bucs named to the All-SoCon Team and one to the All-Freshman Team.

After being named the SoCon Player of the Year after the final round of the SoCon Championship on Tuesday, Loy Hee Ying (Baru, Kulijaya, Malaysia) was automatically named to the All-SoCon team by being in the top-5 league golfers in the GolfStat national rankings. Loy was also recently named as an at-large selection to the NCAA Tournament in the Columbus Regional Site.

Also joining her teammate on the All-SoCon Team is senior Linda Dobele (Ogre, Latvia). She finished the conference tournament tied for 11th, and her best finish came at the Intercollegiate where she placed third individually, which was her best career finish. The third place individual finish helped guide the Bucs to wining the Intercollegiate in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. Dobele had the 11th-best SoCon scoring average at 75.18 in 28 rounds this year.

Rounding out the conference honors was rookie Ankita Kedlaya (Bangalore, India) as she was named to the All-Freshman Team. The India native had the 21st-best scoring average this year in the league at 76.64, which was the third-best on the ETSU squad. Her best finish came at the River Landing Classic where she finished in a tie for 14th and ETSU placed second as a team. She placed in the top-25 four times this year including finishing tied for 23rd in the SoCon Championship.

Furman set a league record with six players being named to the All-Southern Conference Team, and Chattanooga’s Monica San Juan and Mercer’s Hannah Mae Deems rounded out the 10 All-SoCon honorees.

2017 All-Southern Conference team
Linda Dobele, Sr., ETSU
Loy Hee Ying, So., ETSU

Carly Burkhardt, Fr., Furman
Alice Chen, Jr., Furman
Haylee Harford, So., Furman
Reona Hirai, Jr., Furman
Natalie Srinivasan, Fr., Furman
Taylor Totland, Sr., Furman
Hannah Mae Deems, Jr., Mercer
Monica San Juan, So., Chattanooga

2017 Southern Conference All-Freshman team
Ankita Kedlaya, ETSU
Carly Burkhardt, Furman
Natalie Srinivasan, Furman
Lauren Lightfritz, Mercer
Holly Morgan, Chattanooga

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer women’s golf visit and click on the women’s golf page.