Cesane Nabs SoCon All-Freshman Team Selection
Cesane Nabs SoCon All-Freshman Team Selection
Thursday, April 8, 2021

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (April 8, 2021) – Making an impression in her debut season for the ETSU women’s soccer team, Sinoxolo Cesane (Cape Town, South Africa) was selected to the Southern Conference All-Freshman Team, the league office announced Thursday afternoon.

Cesane entered the season as one of just five freshman signed in head coach Jay Yelton’s first recruiting class. The South African made an immediate impact, solidifying a starting spot from the opening game of the season. Earning seven starts in eight games, the rookie played an important part in the defensive midfield position.

From her spot in the middle of the pitch, Cesane played the most minutes of any freshman outfield player by almost 350 minutes. The rookie was also just one of four outfield players on the roster to play at least 700 minutes on the season, averaging 88 minutes per contest. The defensive midfielder registered two shots on the year.


2020-21 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

Player of the Year – Isabella Gutierrez, Jr., MF, Furman
Defensive Player of the Year – Maggie Shaw, Jr., D, Chattanooga
Coach of the Year – Gavin McKinney, Chattanooga
Freshman of the Year – Nieva Gaither, MF, Furman 

First Team

F – Suzuka Yosue, The Citadel
F – Jasmine Greene, Furman
F – Taylor Yount, Samford
M – Isabella Gutierrez, Furman
M – Miya Poplin, Furman
M – Alyssa Frazier, Samford
D – Brie Pavol, Mercer
D – Kylie Gazza, Samford
D – Lexi Orman, Samford
D – Maggie Shaw, Chattanooga
GK – Morgan McAslan, Samford 

Second Team
F – Ally Fordham, Mercer
F – Aliah Kitchens, Mercer
F – Caroline Orman, Samford
F – Chloe Arnold, Chattanooga
F – Rachel Rasins, Wofford
M – Nieva Gaither, Furman
M – Ciara Whitely, Mercer
M – Katie Gilligan, Wofford
D – Faith Hauberg, Furman
D – Ashley Avelino, UNCG
D – Lauren Dluzewski, Chattanooga
GK – Jordyn Ebert, Mercer


All-Freshman Team

Sinoxolo Cesane, ETSU
Addison Corn, Furman
Nieva Gaither, Furman
Miya Poplin, Furman
Kendall Cook, Mercer
Ella Simpson, Samford
Kendra Mueller, Chattanooga
Ao Yamada, Chattanooga
Maggie Lloyd, Western Carolina
Mia Bookhard, Wofford
Olivia Hughes, Wofford