Five Bucs highlight SoCon Postseason Awards
Five Bucs highlight SoCon Postseason Awards
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Pereira and Markesini named to First Team in both singles and doubles

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (April 18, 2018) – The ETSU women’s tennis team claimed five postseason Southern Conference accolades with Alory Pereira (Sao Paulo, Brazil) and Ioanna Markesini (Athens, Greece) earning First Team in singles, while the duo also earned First Team in doubles. Senior Melissa Esguerra (Derrimutt, Australia) was named to the Second Team at the No. 5 singles spot and also earned a spot on the Second Team in doubles after combining with Yi Chi Ma (Kaohsiung, Taiwan). Alejandra Morales (Santiago, Chile) was honored with All-Freshman Team honors.

Seniors Pereira and Markesini earned First Team honors after switching between the No. 1 and No. 2 singles positions. Pereira led the Bucs with a 14-4 record. She went 6-3 at the No. 1 spot and lost just one match at the No. 2 spot going 8-1. Markesini brought in an overall record of 13-6, going 6-4 at the No. 1 spot and 7-2 at the No. 2 spot. This is also Markesini’s second straight year earning this honor.

In doubles, Pereira and Markesini paired in every match to finish the regular season with an 11-10 record.

Senior Melissa earned a spot on the Second Team in the No. 5 singles spot. She had an overall record of 10-11 and held an 8-5 record at the No. 5 spot. Esguerra also received Second Team honors in doubles as her and Yi Chi Ma went 10-5 at the No. 2 doubles spot.

Rounding out SoCon postseason awards was freshman Alejandra Morales. In her first year in the blue and gold, Morales went 10-10 in singles splitting action between the No. 4, No. 5, and No. 6 spot in singles. Morales also picked up 11 wins in doubles action during her freshman debut.

No. 2 ETSU begins SoCon Tournament play this Friday, April 20 against No. 7 Wofford in Chattanooga, Tenn. The match is set for 3:00 p.m. at the Champions Club.

2018 SoCon Women’s Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team


Alory Pereira, ETSU

Ioanna Markesini, ETSU

Katarina Kozarov, Furman

Katty Weymouth, Furman

Katie Sidor, Mercer

Roos van der Zwaan, Samford


Alory Pereira/Ioanna Markesini, ETSU

Roos van der Zwaan/Ellie Gerlach, Samford

Cassidy Hicks/Jenna Vroman, Wofford


Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Samantha Caswell, Chattanooga

No. 2 – Jenna Vroman, Wofford

No. 3 – Danni Vines, Furman

No. 4 – Carol Elizabeth Kerman, Furman

No. 5 – Melissa Esguerra, ETSU

No. 6 – Grace Jennings, Samford


Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – Grace Korta/Katie Sidor, Mercer

No. 2 – Yi Chi Ma/Melissa Esguerra, ETSU

No. 3 – Danni Vines/Georgie Walker, Furman



Alejandra Morales, ETSU

Carol Elizabeth Kerman, Furman

Brianna Gomez, UNCG

Emma Van Hee, Chattanooga

Jordyn King, Western Carolina

Jenna Vroman, Wofford


Player of the Year

Katarina Kozarov, Furman


Freshman of the Year

Jenna Vroman, Wofford


Sportsmanship Award

Elsa Pool, Samford


Coach of the Year

David Vest, Samford


ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer women’s tennis visit and click on the women’s tennis page.