Four Bucs highlight SoCon Postseason Awards
Four Bucs highlight SoCon Postseason Awards
Tuesday, April 16, 2019

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (April 16, 2019) – The ETSU women’s tennis team claimed six postseason Southern Conference accolades, with freshman Laylo Bakhodirova (Tashkent, Uzbekistan) garnering First Team in singles and also a spot on the All-Freshman Team.  Bakhodirova finished her rookie season with a 7-10 overall record at the No. 1 spot. She is the first freshman to be selected to the first team since Furman’s Dannie Vines in 2017.

Bakhodirova is joined by fellow freshman Raquel Amaro (Caracas, Venezuela) on the All-Freshman Team. Amaro led ETSU with a 17-4 overall record and went 9-1 in her last ten matches and finished out the year winning five straight matches. Amaro picked up her second honor after being named to the Second Team in singles at the No. 4 spot

Andrea Pascual-Larrinaga (Basauri, Spain) earned a spot on the All-Second Team in singles at the No. 3 spot. She finished the season with a 14-6 overall record, second best on the team. She held a 6-4 record in her last ten matches.

Rounding out the awards for the Bucs are Alejandra Morales (Santiago, Chile) and Bakhodirova who were named to the Second Team in doubles at the No. 1 spot. The duo went 7-12, holding a .500 average in their last ten matches.

No. 2 ETSU begins SoCon Tournament play this Thursday, April 18 against No. 7 Western Carolina. The match is set for 10:30 a.m. in Macon, Ga.

2019 SoCon Women’s Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team
Laylo Bakhodirova, ETSU
Katarina Kozarov, Furman
Katty Weymouth, Furman
Katie Sidor, Mercer
Nancy Bridges, UNCG
Jenna Vroman, Wofford

Julia Adams/Katarina Kozarov, Furman
Erika Barquero/Nancy Bridges, UNCG
Cassidy Hicks/Jenna Vroman, Wofford

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 - Jordan Strickland, Western Carolina
No. 2 - Jacy Smith, Western Carolina
No. 3 - Andrea Pascual Larrinaga, ETSU
No. 4 - Raquel Amaro, ETSU

No. 5 - Carol Elizabeth Kerman, Furman
No. 6 - Georgie Walker, Furman

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 - Alejandra Morales/Laylo Bakhodirova, ETSU
No. 2 - Madison Dillon/Katty Weymouth, Furman
No. 3 - Carol Elizabeth Kerman/Georgie Walker, Furman

Raquel Amaro, ETSU
Laylo Bakhodirova, ETSU

Julia Adams, Furman
Madison Dillon, Furman
Erika Barquero, UNCG
Jacy Smith, Western Carolina

Player of the Year
Katarina Kozarov, Furman

Freshman of the Year
Julia Adams, Furman

Sportsmanship Award
Jordan Strickland, Western Carolina

Coach of the Year
Krissy Hall, Wofford                                               

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

For more information on Buccaneer women’s tennis visit and click on the women’s tennis page.